## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

December 3, 2020

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 30, 2020, and December 2, 2020:

<u>Circuit Court</u> 5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Robert E. Hood, Columbia, SC
15 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Benjamin H. Culbertson, Georgetown, SC
At-Large, Seat 7	The Honorable J. Cordell Maddox Jr., Anderson, SC
At-Large, Seat 9	<b>The Honorable Jennifer Blanchard McCoy</b> , Charleston, SC
<u>Family Court</u> 7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Jonathan W. Lounsberry, Spartanburg, SC The Honorable Erika L. McJimpsey, Boiling Springs, SC Angela J. Moss, Inman, SC
<u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 6	The Honorable S. Phillip "Phil" Lenski, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified:

<u>Master-in-Equity</u> Beaufort County	The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Beaufort, SC
Calhoun County	The Honorable Martin R. Banks, Cayce, SC
Greenville County	The Honorable Charles B. Simmons Jr., Greenville, SC

Orangeburg County	The Honorable James B. Jackson Jr., Santee, SC
<b>Richland County</b>	The Honorable Joseph M. Strickland, Columbia, SC
Spartanburg County	The Honorable Whitner S. Bishop, Spartanburg, SC Shannon M. Phillips, Inman, SC Shane W. Rogers, Moore, SC The Honorable Tommy Wall, Spartanburg, SC
York County	The Honorable Teasa Kay Weaver, York, SC

## As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 19, 2021. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 3, 2021.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.